Spooky Surprises

IMG_4302

Halloween is the perfect time to surprise a friend with a tiny treat. I’ve crafted up some spooky candy bags with matching gift card envelopes. I plan to leave them lurking on a few desks next week.

Supplies I used:

  • Small craft paper bags or other small bags
  • Craft paper gift card envelopes
  • Origami paper in a variety of designs
  • Circle cutters, scissors, and punches to cut a variety of shapes
  • Nori paste
  • Plastic skeletons
  • Watercolor paper
  • Yasutomo Permawriter II pen, black
  • Yasutomo Chinese Watercolor paints
  • Small paintbrush

IMG_4309

I bought small craft paper bags and gift card envelopes at my local hobby store, but inexpensive brown lunch bags would work well too (and they would hold more candy!)

IMG_4307

Cut origami papers into strips, trims, ruffles, and circles to decorate paper bags and envelopes. I used my circle cutters to create several different polka dot sizes. You might choose to use other scrapbooking scissors and punches to create a variety of trim designs.  Use Nori paste to glue down your design.

Inexpensive plastic skeletons are easy to find in the Halloween decoration aisle at the $1 shop, craft store, or drug store. Use Nori paste to glue down a crown, bow, or other hat.

IMG_4308

Your friends might love a coffee gift card, but you can also craft a personal watercolor card. I cut these cards and rounded the edges to fit into the envelopes. Using a black Permawriter pen, I drew fun Halloween-themed greetings. I added color with my Yasutomo Chinese watercolors.

IMG_4310

IMG_4311

IMG_4312

The final step… fill the bags with candy (without sampling!)

IMG_4304

One thought on “Spooky Surprises

  1. Great use of origami paper! Love the way you put the bags together, too. Wish I were your co-worker!

Leave a Reply

