Origami Bunny Collage

daimyobunnyfinal

Today’s project is making a collage illustration using Yasutomo’s beautiful Yuzen origami paper.

What you need:

Archival Chipboard, which I also gessoed

hard and soft pencils and tracing paper

Yasutomo Sumi Ink and watercolor paint brush

Nori Paste

scissors

I start the project with a quick thumbnail sketch. I chose to do an Asian bunny theme to go with the origami paper I will use.

.bunny1sketch origami-paper

I redraw my daimyo bunny onto my gessoed chipboard that I have cut into a square. Then I trace it. On the reverse side of the tracing paper I retrace it again and then on the first side I go over the line work with a soft pencil so I can draw patterns onto origami paper.

bunny2bunny3

I redraw parts onto origami paper on the reverse side using the tracing paper pattern and the hard pencil. It should be mirror to the original so that when cut out the origami design side will be the correct shape.

bunny3d
back side of origami paper

I paste each piece with the Yasutomo Nori paste which dries clear. When it’s all pasted down I waited over night to make sure the paste was completely dry before going over the drawing with my brush and sumi ink.

bunny4bunny5

daimyobunnyfinal

Of course I didn’t want my little scraps of beautiful origami paper to go to waste.

origami-in-hand

Have fun with your own design.

Leave a Reply

