Moon over Palomar Mountain

As most of you know, I live on top of Palomar Mountain, in California.  Our mountain is known for it’s observatory – one of the largest in the world.  I am telling you this because I was sitting on my porch the other night and the moon was so large and bright in the sky, it took my breath away.  Then a cloud passed in front of the moon, this site was amazing…

The next morning, I could not stop think about how pretty that moon was the night before, So I headed into my studio and started to play.

Supplies:

Canvas

Black Gesso

Oil Pastel

Pale Gold Sumi-e watercolor 

Waterbrush 

DIRECTIONS

1)  Started off with a canvas and painted it with black gesso.

2)  The Niji Oil Pastels are so easy to use, it’s just like use a crayon. I drew in my moon with the white and light yellow oil pastel, blending them together with my finger.

3)  Using blue, grey and white, I started adding those clouds I had seen the night before.  Blend the three colors with your fingers to get the effect.

4)  Stars – I had to add stars. Since we have no outside lights up here, the stars are very bright.  I got my small Waterbrush (love these brushes) and started adding stars with my Pale Gold Sumi-e watercolor.

Stop by the Yasutomo Home Page and check out all the fun art supplies they have!

Terri Sproul

Leave a Reply

