Simple Little Ways

Hi, it’s Tessa from How to Make Art, and I’m here to show you a few fun techniques for your art journal pages.  Here is the finished product in my art journal:

Here’s what you will need:

*Niji Splash Inks
*Authentic Chinese Watercolors
*Chinese Ink in Ultra Black
* Nori Paste
*Colored Pencils
*Pencil
*Fixative Spray
*Art Journal with thick pages (in order to hold wet media)

STEP ONE: Create a background with Splash inks and colored pencil.  I then blacked out a large area for my text/collage with the Authentic Chinese Ink in Ultra Black.  I love the way this ink covers effortlessly with just one coat!

STEP TWO: Create a phrase or tiny pencil sketch on a smaller piece of sketch paper.  I tore the edges of my paper to give it a fun deckled edge effect.

STEP THREE: Color your small drawing or phrase with the Authentic Chinese Watercolors.  I started with a yellow background then filled in the letters in the middle word with red/purple.  Last, I went over my cursive words with orange, to give the letters a highlighted look.

STEP FOUR: Apply Nori paste to the back of the paper, and glue it into your book.  Now you are finished!  Enjoy making art today!

One thought on “Simple Little Ways

  1. Did you know that regardless of sitting in front of a sign that read, “Spray Art,” (which was painted in Banksy’s signature stencil print) no one knew the vendor was selling original artwork signed by Banksy.

Leave a Reply

