Underwater Encounter

J-FinalDrawing

I have to admit this Thanksgiving week that I have a pretty incredible life. I live in paradise and I love what I do. I’m forever grateful for all the opportunities that come my way, including this one here where I can share a little bit of it.

I try to swim daily as part of my exercise routine. Saturdays I have life drawing in the morning and so I swam on my own in the afternoon. This is at our little beach near my home in Kehena, HI. I always wear a mask, snorkel and fins because the currents can be strong at times. This particular Saturday, which is yesterday as I write this blog, I saw the most beautiful eagle ray glide gently under me. At that moment I thought, I must share this for the blog. So here we are.

For this project you will need the following:

Yasutomo Sumi Ink

Pale Gold Sumi Watercolor

Gel Xtreme Pens, Gold and White

Paper, Pencil, an eraser, and a watercolor brush

A-quicksketch

I always start my project with a thumbnail sketch.

C-Drawing

Then I redraw the image to the size I want the finished drawing on the paper I have chosen. Here, one made of hemp, I liked the speckles on the paper and the nice creamy color.

D-BlackPaint

The main subject of my drawing is the eagle ray floating above  stylized water. I paint the ray with the sumi ink.

F-goldpaint

Then it’s time to paint the water. I want it dramatic against the black so I go with the Pale Gold Sumi Watercolor. I take my time going around all the circles, kind of like my last project (the glazing technique one). When I finish, I take a Gel Xtreme gold pen and rule a line around the whole image. Then I erase all the pencil lines.

H-rayspots

This is a photo of the back of an actual eagle ray. To do this on my black ray I needed the help of Yasutomo’s GelXTreme  pastel pen in white. It was way easier than trying to paint all the circles and dots!

I-myspots

Here’s a closeup of my version.

Thanks for letting me share my awesome experience!

-Tuko

8 thoughts on “Underwater Encounter

  1. Gorgeous! Thanks for sharing the technique with us!

  2. That is amazing Tuko! To say I love it would be an understatement!! Your art is awesome!
    xxDaniella

  3. Great design, Tuko! I like the slice of the underside of the Manta.

Leave a Reply

