2014-Year of the Horse

13-newyearcard

I’m usually not so together that I can get out Christmas cards on time so I try to at least do a New Year design which gives me until mid January to get something out. So here is my process for the next New Year. It’s going to be the year of the horse in the Chinese zodiac calendar (the Japanese adopted this too).

1-pasteandpaper

I started with a scrap piece of Yuzen Origami Paper and a plain watercolor paper (card stock). I glued it onto the edge of the paper with Nori Paste.

2-horsedrawing

I then drew a stylized horse using a PermaWriter Markers (07).

4-2014

I added the numbers 2014 so that the horse is looking towards it though if I wanted to be literal, he should probably be running towards it.

3-dividinglines

To make it a little abstract I ink in shapes to divide the card into interesting spaces. Then with the ink pen I color in black every other space. Like so:

5-colorblack

6-colorblackorigami

I continued the inking to the origami paper side as well.

7-finishedinking

After the inking was done I thought it was a little plain. It needed color. Originally I was going to use Splash Inks for today’s project but because of the yuzen origami paper with the bits of gold ink I thought I need to use something that would match the shimmer.

8-pearlescentpaint

Niji Pearlescent Watercolors was the perfect solution. I love all the different colors.

9-paintingcolors

10-pearlescentcoloring

After painting all the white spaces different colors using my Niji waterbrush I thought design still needed another element to make it look more finished.

12-gelinking

My favorite, metallic Gel Xtreme Pens!

Happy New Year, but first… Mele Kalikimaka which is Merry Christmas in Hawaiian. Can you believe I had to learn that hula last week? I’m no dancer so it wasn’t pretty, but it was fun.

5 thoughts on “2014-Year of the Horse

  1. What a great artist you are . So stylish, love your graphics and the way you perceive the world through your painting, your colors , your asian design influence … Congrats 🙂 xoxo P. Melie kalikimaka !

  2. Another AMAZING piece Tuko!! How awesome that you “Hula”. I can’t even imagine doing that!!
    Mele Kalikimaka to you too!!
    xxDaniella

  3. I love your work Tuko! Inspiring….

  4. This is wonderful!

  5. Thanks everyone for your nice comments.

Leave a Reply

