Splash A Landscape

I have been playing with my Splash Inks again !
.  ……and have a landscape to prove it!

Today’s project is a perfect example of ‘letting the paints/inks do their job’ motto of mine. Over the years I have realized that the less I fiddle with the paints, the fresher and purer the results are . I feel  the final piece definitely looks much brighter this way. When I keep going back with a brush, trying to adjust the values, there is a always a chance that the final piece might end up being muddy and overworked.

So, today, I revisited that motto and just let the colors be!

Here is a list of supplies..

Splash Inks

Niji Waterbrsuh flat

Watercolor paper-140# cold press,

Sentiment stamp-CAS-ual Fridays-Breathe

Dampen the paper and apply the color directly from the bottle.

Start layering colors and keep spraying water to help them mix and blend. I worked wet in wet… did not let the colors dry before layering more.

There will come a point when you start seeing shapes or a picture come to life. I stop at that point and then with the help of a brush, start adding the finer details to complete the picture. In this case, I have added the black silhouette tress and foreground and also lifted some color with a wet brush and tissue to achieve some highlights.

Finally stamp the sentiment and done!

The best part of this technique is that you don’t have a plan nor a sketch or a definite idea of how it will turn out. With not much control, the final piece is often an interesting surprise! It helps to  loosen up  and break free. I love doing something like this when I am stuck for ideas or when I just want to experiment with color mixes or techniques.

I hope you will give this one a try!

Swarup.

Leave a Reply

