Playing With Pattern

Hi, it’s Tessa from How To Make Art here to show you a fun project using Splash Inks and patterns.  I hope you will enjoy it!

Here’s what you will need:

*Yasutomo and Company’s Black Permawriters, .05 and .07

*Paper or sketchbook

*Computer with Photoshop OR Xerox Machine with Scissors and a Glue Stick

*Niji Splash Inks

*Paint Brush

*Two cups of water (one for washing out your brush, one for adding water to mix Splash Ink colors)

*Eye dropper (to add water when mixing Splash Ink colors)

Step One: Create a drawing of something you wish to turn into a pattern.  I drew this deer in my sketchbook using Yasutomo and Company Permawriters:

Step Two: Create a pattern out of your drawing.  You can do this two ways: either with a computer with Photoshop or by hand with a Xerox machine, scissors, and a glue stick.  If using Photoshop, just scan your image, then copy and paste the image again and again, creating two staggered rows of your drawing.  Print out the black and white pattern.  If using a Xerox machine, copy your design over and over, cut it out, and glue it into rows on a piece of white paper to create a pattern.  Copy one last time to get a copy with no cut out pieces, and you are ready to color your pattern!  Here is what my finished pattern looked like in black and white:
Step Three: This is the fun part – where we use Splash Inks to color in the pattern!  I chose two different color palettes for my deer, one was brown/pink/orange, and the other was pink/orange/green.  I alternated the color palettes, making every other deer one color, while all the others were the opposite palette.  Since the palettes were similar, they went together well.  I mixed up my colors using combinations of the four main Splash Ink colors and water, according to the guidelines in the instructions.  I took a looser approach to coloring in my pattern, since the actual black and white lines were so uniform, I decided to fill in my deer and leaves just outside of the lines, giving the pattern a bit of an organic feel:
Step Four: Finish coloring your entire pattern in, then think of all the ways you can use a sheet of patterned paper: for the endsheets or covers or a book, to wrap a present, to make a small card… The possibilities are endless!  Here is my finished patterned paper:
Happy Creating!! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

