Grandma Hugs

I recently came across a photo taken last year, one I had forgotten about actually! It’s a picture of my mom and my son, hugging. It’s a great pic and I wanted to scrap it as soon as it was rediscovered!

Grandma hugs Niji

To do this, I wanted to make my own background paper. I began with a piece of cream cardstock. I stamped on some simple white circles with acrylic paint. This was my base paper.

To this, I began to use Niji Pearlescent Watercolors to distress the paper. Using copper, gold, and bronze shades, I splattered some of it on, masked in other places, and just brushed it on as well. No rhyme or reason, just getting color everywhere was my goal.

To give it texture, I poured a little bit of water on the paper and gently crumbled it into a ball. After carefully unfolding it and allowing it to dry, it was ready to build my layout onto!

This is a fun technique, I hope to able to share a photo tutorial on it very soon!

~Rebecca

2 thoughts on “Grandma Hugs

  1. Beautiful Rebecca! I love how you kept the circle theme going! And the burlap is another fabulous dimensional element!
    xxDaniella

  2. Fabulous all over. I’m in love with the colors and techniques. What a beautiful memory!

Leave a Reply

